Ninjutsu represents the stealth of the Ninjas by allowing a creature that attacks and isn't blockedto be exchanged with a Ninja in the controlling player's hand, such that the Ninja is attacking and unblocked instead of the original creature, which is returned to the owner's hand. for yuriko, the tigers shadow in commander, if he dies does the ninjutsu cost increase with commander tax? How much tax do you pay on them? This additional cost applies any time you cast your commander from the command zone, but not if you’re casting it from your hand. (Edgar Markov and Inalla, you’re on my list too. Is it possible to have Etrata, the Silencer deal combat damage then while that's on the stax use Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow Commander Ninjutsu Ability to get both triggers? Similar Deck Space Auto-suggestions. If you read the words describing ninjutsu, you'll see it say to replace the attacker on the field with the card in your hand with ninjutsu, so unless you put your commander into your hand, then no, it won't cast from the command zone. So if you’ve cast Okaun, Eye of Chaos 4 times but haven’t cast Zndrsplt yet, then Zndrsplt will still cost all of 4U. Activating Yuriko’s commander ninjutsu ability isn’t the same as casting Yuriko as a spell. The stack still has Etrata, the Silencer's ability. How the commander works is simple: Any time your Commander would be put into your graveyard or exile from anywhere, you may choose to instead put it back in the Command zone for future casting. Neat! CardHoarder 25.93 TIX. This site © 2020 TappedOut.net, LLC Upvote 0. Help | Alas, no, it does not. You drop Thrax for 4UBR. We can play her again at the same price! Contact us. However, if you give Etrata, the Silencer First Strike, you will be able to get both triggers in the same combat step. Deckcycle Deckcycle Feature Queue. This site is unaffiliated. The combat damage step, in simple form, starts with damage being applied, then gives players priority (i.e. The First Strike Combat Damage Step ends, and you move to the regular combat damage step. share. Trevor Nuñez, Level 1 judge from Roswell, NM. TappedOut.js Blog Widget. 43% Upvoted. Contact | How the commander works is simple: Any time your Commander would be put into your graveyard or exile from anywhere, you may choose to instead put it back in the Command zone for future casting. Commander Ninjutsu Asked by DiceMaster3 2 years ago. Enter-the-Battlefield Triggers Discord Server | The Ninjutsu ability resolves and Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow enters the battlefield tapped and attacking. You choose whether you’re doing the ‘normal’ cost or any alternate costs, then apply increases like commander tax, then reducers- so if you have an Incubator set to Djinn this time, it still discounts his alternate cost, but you do still have to pay command tax… they can activate abilities or cast instant-speed spells). The stack has Etrata, the Silencer's ability on it. But to balance this, we have the Commander Tax: each time you cast it from the Command Zone, it ticks up the little ‘tax counter’ one more time. Sort by. Ninjutsu Commander / EDH UB (Dimir) ApocalypseBros. Edit Live Edit. Hope you’ve had fun, and until next time, keep casting commanders! This is also going to trigger her ability, which will end up on the stack first. This one’s also fairly simple- commander tax counts how many times you’ve cast that specific Commander from your Command Zone. Card Kingdom 186.70 - 198.26 . I can't think of any Blue/Black cards that would really work well for this plan--there's some equipment, but you'd have to re-attach it to Etrata, the Silencer every time you wanted to perform this plan. Edit. There’s really no fear in doing this because remember, even if Yuriko gets swept away in a board wipe, her Ninjutsu ability totally disregards commander tax. 7/13/2018: If a card in your library has in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0. This still works even though Etrata, the Silencer is no longer on the battlefield to be shuffled into your library--she is safe in your hand, ready to be re-cast. So you cannot use the unmodified creatures to get both triggers. Many judges will haul a deck or five with them to a tournament, knowing that there’s likely to be quite a few judges to play with. You know what you did. As part of the cost for the Ninjutsu ability, you return Etrata, the Silencer to your hand. Need help with your own blog? Like Derevi, Empyrial Tactician's ability, the Ninjutsu ability bypasses the Commander Tax. But to balance this, we have the Commander Tax: each time you cast it from the Command Zone, it ticks up the little ‘tax counter’ one more time. Need help with your own blog? Contact us. Is it possible to have Etrata, the Silencer deal combat damage then while that's on the stax use Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow Commander Ninjutsu Ability to get both triggers?. To do so, you pay its mana cost, plus two extra generic mana for each time you’ve cast your commander so far this game (this is commonly referred to as the ‘Commander Tax’). Today’s Rules Tip written by How Trinisphere works with Phyrexian Mana. Also does Commander Ninjutsu get around Commander tax? So what is the “Commander Tax”, and how does it work? Etrata, the Silencer is unblocked and deals damage during the First Strike Combat Damage Step. Feeds | This thread is archived. We cast them on turn one, swing on turn two, then sneak out our commander. So that’s the low-down on Commander Tax! This is pretty important--cards like Akroma's Memorial will not work with this plan--they also give Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow First Strike, so she would not be able to do damage in the Regular Combat Damage Step. New comments cannot be posted and votes cannot be cast. Playtest v1. This extra 2 mana per casting is called the “Commander Tax” by many players. A legendary creature that begins the game in an untouchable zone known as the Command Zone, from which you can summon it freely. Etrata, the Silencer is still "attacking" and still unblocked--even though she's already dealt damage, until the end of combat step she's still considered an attacking creature. Combat damage does not use the stack. Also does Commander Ninjutsu get around Commander tax? You can pay 0 rather than the normal 4UBR for Thrax, but that doesn’t get you out of the tax. Once First Strike combat damage has been dealt, you now gain priority since you are the Active Player. She may be partnered with Okaun, but they don’t share taxes! So say you have a Thrax that’s died 5 times, and you play Rooftop Storm. Terms of Use | For example, what if you have Urza’s Incubator set to Hounds, making all your goodest boys 2 mana cheaper? 14 comments. What if you have two Commanders? You won’t have to pay the commander tax to activate that ability, and activating that ability won’t increase the commander tax to pay later. The basics: you can cast your Commander from the Command Zone. Yuriko, the Tiger's Shadow will do combat damage during this step, which will trigger her ability. Privacy statement | Etrata, the Silencer's ability resolves and you get to exile a creature with a hit counter on it.